A Day in the Life

Standard

12am: Feed Squeaks
1am: Fall asleep to an old episode of “CSI” on hulu+
2am: Wake up when JI crawls into our bed
3:45am: Wake up to feed Squeaks
5am: Back to sleep
7:55am: Wake up to get JI ready for school
8:20am: Bus is here!
wpid-collage_20150417104056590_20150417104254875.jpg8:21-11:30am: Doctors’ appointments, grocery shopping, eat breakfast, feed Squeaks, major projects, cuddle with Squeaks.

11:45-11:57am: Bus is here! JI arrives home from school.

12pm-2pm: Lunch for me and Squeaks. JI begins his plea for tablet time. When he gets it and for how long depend on whether he got green, yellow, or red behaviour at school that day. I will try to get him to go outside or do something constructive, but 9/10 he will end up vegging out and watching TV. JI is fairly worthless after school and I think it is because his brain and sensory processing center need to take a break to recharge.

2pm: Poke wakes up. I will debrief him on the events of the day, and hopefully get to take a nap.

4pm-7pm: Poke leaves for work and I’m back on parenting duty. Generally JI will play the tablet for a while, Squeaks will nap, and I will get my chores done. If it is nice, I’ll send JI outside to play. Our backyard is completely fenced in so I just check on him occasionally while I get my work done. If the weather is yucky, this is when I try to get crafts or activities done with JI. He’s not a fan of either, or of games/coloring/etc, so bad weather days can be really challenging. Sometimes I can’t stand the whining and he gets unlimited tablet time.

7-8:30pm: Dinner! I almost always let JI choose, for two reasons: 1) I want him to eat, and if I give him something he’s not tasting for, he won’t, and 2) I honestly don’t care what we have. It’s just the two of us so there’s nothing that’s too difficult to make for two people. Plus it gives him the power of choice and, depending on the dish, the ability to make his own dinner. He can make his own PB&J, get yogurt and fruit from the fridge, or use scissors to open fruit snacks and graham crackers.
After dinner it is brother bathtime, on every alternating day, unless someone is really filthy. JI and Squeaks both love to take baths! It is harder to get JI out than in; Squeaks doesn’t have a choice.wpid-collage_20150417103859324.jpg
Once bathtime is over, we watch a movie or a few episodes of a show on Netflix or Hulu+. JI has recently gotten into “Pocoyo” and I LOVE it! So much better than “Mickey’s Once Upon a Christmas”,  which was the preferred movie from December 2014 to March 2015. Ugh. Usually during this time, I’ll feed Squeaks so that he’ll fall asleep before it is time for me to put JI down.

8:30pm: Bedtime for JI. We’ll read a couple stories, then it is lights out. I love this time of day because it is when JI is finally unwound. We have our special talks at this time, and I learn so much about him and what’s going on in his little mind. We cuddle, and he almost always falls asleep within moments of crawling into my arms.

9:15pm-12am: Aaaaah, mommy time. I will eat a special snack, catch up on TV and social media, and work on the blog and my Pampered Chef business. I actually don’t get a ton of work done during this time, because I have found that if I get my brain going this late at night, I can’t fall asleep.

12am: Feed Squeaks… and the cycle begins again!

3 thoughts on “A Day in the Life

Comments are closed.