Busy, Busy, Busy!

Standard

OMG you guys. I feel like I have been hit by a steamroller. I mean, for real.

wpid-20150428_183011.jpgSaturday we went to a pirate party at one of our local malls. It was freakin’ ridiculous. My best friend Lola and her daughter Lulu invited us, and we had gone last year and had fun. Well, this year, not so much. The best part of the outing was sitting in the food court eating lunch! JI actually ate almost all of his Chick-fil-a (grumble grumble), and I got to have some tasty, tasty Charley’s Philly and fries.

Then we headed over to the court outside of Sears, where people had already started congregating and going to each pirate station. Last year they had all the tables spread out, and it was not at all crowded. This year, they had all the tables in wpid-collage_20150429111007478.jpga very small area, and it was packed. For some reason, they also had the ramp roped off, so I was basically stuck outside the party area or inside it at the top of the steps. Wtf. So Lola tried to take the kids around to each table, because the point of the pirate party is to get a stamp on each island of your treasure map, and when you get all of them you earn a prize from the treasure chest. Well JI was starting to have a moment, because they sensory overload was at the tipping point. I was in panic mode myself, and had already started sweating, literally. Finally Lola and Lulu gave up, jacked a stamper, and well… let’s just say we earned our piece of candy! I should have known better than to take JI, given his recent downturn in coping skills, but I am just so in denial sometimes that I really think he can do normal things – and that I can do normal things – without freaking out. Damn.

Sunday, Poke was off, so I secretly arranged a babysitter for us so we could go out to dinner and karaoke. Of course we went to our favorite Mexican spot, Casa Hacienda, and started the nighwpid-20150422_165400.jpgt with awesome food and super strong margaritas. I also had a Paloma, which was basically tequila and sprite with a cherry in it, and Poke had a mojito. Noms. Then we came back home to charge our phones, because there was still an hour til karaoke started, and I had a beer while Poke took a nap. Being a parent is quite boring sometimes. We headed out to karaoke, where we met a couple of our friends and then there was drama, which I will be discussing in a different post, because it involves my recent connection with my bio mom. Seriously? Yes. For realzies.

Anyway, we had an excellent time (other than about an hour in the middle), ate some deliciously random pizza as well as authentic tacos from a truck, and actually hit up two different bars (because we had to leave the first one lol). I got to see my favorite bartender from years ago, whom I haven’t seen in probably two years, and reconnected with another friend that I haven’t seen in over a year. Being pregnant really puts a kink in your social lifewpid-20150423_071710.jpg when said social life revolves around bars and beers! On the way home, I blasted Usher and sang at the top of my lungs. It was a good time. Our babysitter told us she’d keep the boys overnight, so we actually got to sleep in until like 9:30am on Monday! Woah!

JI was off school Monday, so we all basically laid around the house not doing a damn thing all day. Poke had a dentist appointment, but that was it. We ate majorly unhealthy food, we drank too much Kool-Aid, JI played outside with his jammies and socks on. It was a fine day for everyone. Let me tell you though, I really really cannot throw down like I used to… ugh. I can’t believe that Poke and I used to go out and drink every single night! I mean what the heck?! How did I even make it through my twenties?!

Tuesday we had to stay up after JI went to school, to go to our couples’ counseling session. It was a good session. Afterwards I dropped Poke at home, and went grocery shopping. I also got my tooth fixed yesterday! Back when I was eleven years old, I got hit in the mouth with a full glass bottle of pop (I think it was pop… definitely was not beer?). Since then, for wpid-20150426_180943.jpg22 years, I’ve had a crack in my front tooth. It never bothered me, it never messed up my tooth in any way other than tada! a line down the center of my tooth. Well my dentist was like “Hey, how about we get rid of that crack?” so for $130, bam! New tooth! They sanded it down and filled it in and now it looks like a plain old tooth. I kinda miss the crack LOL I’ve had it for so long that it is weird to look at my tooth without it!

I’ve started on my outdoor chores, cutting the grass, cleaning up the garden beds, getting JI’s toys out and washed, and all that stuff. I love spring because I love being outside doing stuff. Don’t ask me to go on a hike, or a walk, or anything like that – boooooooring. I like to dig and plant and mow, I like to empty out the whole shed and reorganize it (my next project!), I like to rake and whack weeds. I really love to do chores!

And that, my friends, has been my super busy past four days. I still have a headache, because it won’t completely go away until November, and I am so incredibly tired. Between Squeaks being awake more often and JI’s weird sleeping schedule of late, I really don’t sleep – I just take a series of naps. Short naps. Oh well, thus is life as a parent!

And now for a video of me, singing:

