Bar Fight

Standard

I have barely posted this week, because I have been so busy and just completely out of sorts, and this weekend was cut short by a really fun stomach bug. So, I’m sorry that I have left you all hanging! I promised a post about the drama from karaoke, and then I just disappeared.

Warning: Adult Language

Okay, so here’s what happened on Sunday night that ruined about 90 minutes of the evening.

I had been talking to my bio mom that day, and told her we were going to karaoke and I would make a video to send her. Well, I had Poke take one, but I wasn’t sure of the quality and how I sang, so I wanted to take another just in case.wpid-collage_20150503204716461_20150503204810717.jpg Unfortunately, when it was my turn, Poke and Seanatello were out getting pizza and not around to take my video. There was a table with three women, a nice older black one, a manly looking young one, and a 75 yr former diva in a bad wig. I had had a bit of chit chat with the diva, so I asked her if she would take a video for my bio mom, as she had never heard me sing before. Apparently that was the wrong thing to ask, because this bitch went off on me.

Me: “Hi, my husband and friend are out getting pizza, and I wondered if you could take a video of me singing for my bio mom, because we just connected and she’s never heard me sing before.”

Diva: “You mean your real mom.”

Me: “No, I’m adopted, I mean my biological mother.”

Diva: “Your birth mother IS your real mother. She gave birth to you. Your adoptive mom is not your real mom.”

Me: “My adoptive mom is my real mom because she raised me. Either way, it doesn’t matter. Are you going to take this video or not?” {getting visibly irritated}

Manly Woman: “How much have you had to drink, honey? Are you sure you want her to see you like this?”

Me: “I am not drunk, and even if I was, I can still sing. It is my choice what I show her. Are any of you going to take this video?”

Diva: “Are you going to admit that your birth mother is your real mother?”

Me: “You know what, forget it. I’ll just skip my turn and wait for my husband to come back and do it.” {walks away}

Diva: “Honey, if you would just accept the truth, you’d feel better! Come back, I’ll take the video now!”

Me: “Fuck you and fuck your damn manly daughter!”

And I walked out, crying, and smoked a cigarette while furiously texting Seanatello and Poke to see where the hell they were in my time of crisis. They showed up a few minutes later, just as the Diva came outside to “apologize”. Really she was just trying to further justify her point of view, even though I specifically told her that it was not my point of view and that I didn’t honestly care what her p.o.v. was, I just thought it was fucking rude that she decided to give me a lecture on who my real mom is or is not when it is not even her business. I told my friends and Poke that we needed to leave. Unfortunately, I was yelling at her outside the bar, so the bartender was like “Dude, you can’t actually do that, you probably should leave.” That made me feel kind of embarrassed, but then he told me he was about to shut down anyway because if we were leaving, he had no reason to stay open, because those three women had only spent $6.00 total and didn’t even tip at all! So the five of us (me, Poke, Seanatello, the bartender, and the KJ) stood outside finishing the pizza, ate a few tacos from the taco truck, and then we left for another bar. Seanatello and the KJ were supposed to meet up with us there, but they decided to stay back at Seanatello’s place instead.

Anyway, we get to the next bar, and I’m so happy because a bunch of people I haven’t seen in forever are there and everyone is having a great time. Then I look across the bar, and who do I see? That damn Diva. Well, I decide to be the bigger person, and just completely ignore her. She tried to catch my eye, but I literally looked right past her. Then, about a wpid-20150427_014911_20150503205350010.jpghalf hour later, when I’m outside talking to my friends, and the KJ (a different one) comes out with the Diva. I don’t say a word, until I overhear my name and the words adoption and bio mom. I totally lost my shit on her, because she was making it her business to tell the KJ my business! What the hell?! I told her to keep my name and my situation out of her mouth, because, as I told her just a bit earlier, it was not her place to lecture me or anybody else. If she didn’t want to take the video, she could have politely declined and been on her merry way. But no, she had to make it a big deal to make me say that my bio mom is my real mom. Well fuck that.

She ended up leaving shortly thereafter, likely because nearly everyone at the bar is a friend or acquaintance of mine, and she couldn’t find anybody to cry to about how mean I was. But really? Whatever. I don’t even care. I could not believe the nerve of this woman, trying to tell me who is who and what I should feel like. I even tried to reason with her, and explain that it was a very sensitive situation, that it was all new and fresh and exciting for me, but she still persisted and would not listen to anything I had to say.

But I didn’t let it ruin my night! She can go take a long walk off a short pier. Hopefully her bad wig will keep her afloat.

4 thoughts on “Bar Fight

Comments are closed.