A Tasty Treat

Standard

wpid-20150519_123713.jpg

It is so easy to make this lemonade, you’ll wonder why you never did it before now! I’ve been gradually cutting out dyes from JI’s diet, not because I like to buy into the hype but because I want to see if it will work. Cutting out Red 40 was easy, but cutting out Yellow 5 is proving to be more of a challenge. We’re getting there! We don’t eat a lot of processed or premade/prepackaged foods, and what we do thus far hasn’t had much if any dyes in it. The hardest thing is drinks. I’m not going to deny my kid green kool-aid! It’s part of childhood. But, that being said, I am severely limiting his intake. I’ll make 2 quarts every couple weeks, and in between he can have Juicy Juice, milk, chocolate milk, water, etc. Well he’s decided lately that he loves lemonade. Unfortunately, every powdered lemonade at the store has dye, and the liquid lemonade base that doesn’t have dye has high-fructose corn syrup. I promise I’m not a crunchy hippie, and not someone who buys into the hype and food horror mongering. But HFCS is just gross. Have you ever seen it in its plain form? Blech. But I digress. I decided to work out a lemonade recipe that JI could help me make and that would taste like “the real thing”, ie, the powdered stuff that we’ve all grown to know and love. I’m proud to say that my homemade stuff is even better! It’s like what lemonade is supposed to taste like!

Simple Homemade Lemonade

  • 8 lemons, halved
  • 1 cup water + 1 cup sugar
  • 3 quarts water

Pwpid-collage_20150519133229260_20150519133306852.jpgour the 1 c water + 1 c sugar into a pan and stir. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly, until sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat, let cool. If you didn’t know, you just made simple sugar! Awesome! See, it’s not that scary.

Juice the lemons, being sure to remove the seeds. If you have a good juicer, you should be able to save the pulp and get rid of the seeds, or you can just pick them out. Or, if you hate pulp, just toss all of it! I have an electric juicer so I let JI do that part.

PS – by juicer I mean juicer, not a Jack LaLanne juicer LOL

Combine the lemon juice/pulp, simple syrup, and 3 quarts of water. Stir well, and taste. You might need to add a bit more sugar if you like it sweeter, or if it is too strong, add some more water. We like ours very lemony and very flavorful!

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “A Tasty Treat

  1. I was completely unaware dyes existed in over the counter store bought lemonade. High fructose corn syrup seems to have it’s sugary little hands in everything. Thank you so much for this. I worked at a cafe for several years, and your recipe was similar to the kind they used to make. I remember how it always tasted better, more natural. Thank you for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh now this just sounds delicious! I’m in Vancouver, Canada and we’re finally getting some lemonade weather. I just picked up a huge bag of lemons from Costco. Thank you for suggesting such a grand way to put them to use!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.