Mystery Wings and Bang-Bang Sauce

Standard

Last night, I opened the meat drawer in the fridge, and there was three pounds of raw, whole chicken wings just chillin’ in their little packages. I thought it was two pounds, then I saw that each package was 1.48#. Okay, so, if you don’t know me, I hate chicken with bones. Every once in a while (as in, every couple of years) I’ll crave fried chicken or bone-in wings, but I generally stay away from chicken. I will eat nuggets or patties, as long as they are heavily processed. I had a traumatic chicken incident when I was eleven… it ruined me forever.

wpid-collage_20150519194329888_20150519194546334.jpg

Anyway, because I hate chicken so much, I rarely buy it. We eat a lot of pork and beef, or meatless meals. JI won’t even eat chicken unless it is in nugget form! Thus I was very surprised to see three pounds of raw chicken in my fridge, especially since I don’t remember buying them!

Well they had to be eaten, since I wasn’t sure when I had bought them but it had been at least 5 days. So I busted out the deep fryer and cooked the shit out of those wings. To go with them, because I hadn’t breaded them or marinated them or anything, I made some “bang-bang” sauce. I don’t really know why it’s called that, but apparently a restaurant somewhere has “Bang-Bang Shrimp” (which I’ve made before) and people go nuts over it. I don’t know if my sauce is comparable to that sauce, but I do know that it is freakin’ delicious. Yum and yum.

Bang-Bang Sauce (for two people/3# wings for dipping)

  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1/8 cup Thai sweet chili sauce
  • Generous squirt Sriracha (to taste)

Combine all ingredients, mix well til no mayo lumps remain.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Mystery Wings and Bang-Bang Sauce

Comments are closed.