School’s Out for Summer!

Standard

JI had his last day of school on Thursday, finishing up a great last week of school. This school year has been very difficult for us, from starting out at another school as an NT peer to being recast as disabled by the school system, then switching schools at the same time that Squeaks was being born and record amounts of snow were falling on central Ohio causing several weeks of snow days.

wpid-20150523_182057.jpgLearning how to behave in a different classroom setting was a challenge as well. At the public schools here, a red-yellow-green system is used, and in the beginning JI was constantly on red (all kids start on green and get moved to yellow and then red depending on their behaviour). I was feeling really poorly as a parent, but over time I realized that he just had to work it out and learn how to do it their way. This was tough because I always want my baby to be his best! I looked at his sticker chart for the month of May, and he only had four redwpid-20150526_164525.jpg days! Spectacular! JI has ended this school year on such a positive note, and I could not be more proud of him for all the growing and changing he has done.

Also today I received the paperwork that JI’s teacher filled out in regards to his social behaviour and such in the classroom. There were three questionnaires to be completed, and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by the answers. There were a lot of things that he does that I thought he didn’t do, such as play with other kids and act wpid-20150519_111334.jpgappropriately in group settings. He wasn’t doing that at the beginning of the year. Now I’m wondering, and hoping almost, that he behaviour problems were just temporary and that he doesn’t have ASD or ODD or related disorders. Of course I’m still going to keep going with the evaluations, because I’d rather test for everything and get a ton of negatives than stop testing and have him fall behind again. He definitely still has sensory issues, so behaviour therapy will definitely help with that.

wpid-20150527_134717.jpgI’m very excited for this summer. I think JI is going to mature a great deal between now and August, and hopefully next school year won’t be as emotionally demanding as this past school year. I have heaps of ideas in my brain about what to do to help JI in that maturing process, and I cannot wait to share them with you all. The next three months are going to be unique in that JI is becoming an actual boy, not just a toddler or preschooler, and Squeaks is going to be doing a whole lot of growing, and might be sitting up and maybe even crawling by the end of the summer. I am just so eager to see it all happen!

7 thoughts on “School’s Out for Summer!

  1. I’m with you… Test to be sure because it is ALWAYS better to find out sooner, than later. We thought my daughter had dyslexia in the 1st grade. I had her tested, went through all of the emotions, and discovered that all she needed was a tutor. She’s in a private school, learning on a level that is 3 grades higher. Plus, she’s the youngest in class. I was glad I had her tested, and relieved to find a wonderful tutor to get her over the hump, but if I wouldn’t have paid attention, it could have turned into a problem for learning. Keep up the good work, mom… It’s a journey! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As a former preschool teacher I can’ t stress enough how impressed I am by you getting testing done. It was one of my biggest frustrations, parents who ignored it. My daughter definetely has ADD and a learning disability but staying on top of it is key. Looks like you are doing a fantastic job!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.