Homemade Gyros

Standard

I love Greek food. All of it. I have often wondered if I could somehow get one of those vertical rotisseries and giant hunks of lamb for my house. I love it!

A friend of mine brought some Greek dip to a party we had recently. It reminded me of Tzatsiki sauce, so I used the leftovers to make gyros. So, without further ado…

Homemade Gyros (serves one)

  • 4 slices Steak’umms
  • 2 soft taco size tortillas or 2 small pitas
  • Lettuce/tomato
  • Oregano
  • Dill
  • Garlic
  • Salt
  • Greek dip/sauce (see below)

Place your frozen Steak’umms in a hot non-stick pan.

Sprinkle with oregano, dill, garlic, and salt.

Shred the meat using a non-metal spatula.

Flip, continue cooking until completely done.

Spread the Greek dip/sauce on your tortillas

Top with meat, lettuce, and tomato.

Roll up and Enjoy!

wpid-collage_20150702165729676_20150702165912202.jpg

Greek dip/sauce

  • 2 boxes cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cucumber finely diced
  • 1 red onion finely diced
  • Salt to taste
  • Milk

Combine all ingredients except milk.

Add milk to make the dip the thickness that you want. For the gyros, I had it at a yoghurt consistency.

One thought on “Homemade Gyros

Comments are closed.