Fried Zucchini

Standard

I love love love zucchini… but only if it is in something, like zucchini bread, or fried. The other day I found myself in possession of two small zucchinis, and since I didn’t feel like making bread, I decided to fry it. Also, I’m trying to get JI to try new foods, and Iwpid-collage_20151002090426006_20151002090514834.jpg thought maybe he’d be more interested in something that looked like a chip than bread with green flecks… I was wrong. He ate one teeny nibble and hated them. Whatever! I got to eat the rest!

Whenever I fry, I used the standard breading procedure: flour, egg wash, breadcrumbs. For the zucchini, I seasoned my flour with generic Italian seasoning, mixed one egg with 4T milk, and ran two cups of Italian croutons through the food processor. Dip, dip, dip! I deep fried them for 2 minutes – if you don’t have a deep fryer, you could easily heat oil in a deep pan and use that instead; make sure you have enough to cover the slices. Set on a paper towel to drain, but serve immediately because they get cold quickly! I like to dip mine in ranch. Yum!

One thought on “Fried Zucchini

Comments are closed.