Easy Peasy Lemon Pepper Chicken Salad

Standard

I won’t lie, I hate chicken. But every once in awhile I get a craving for chicken salad, and I inevitably make too much. Then I give it away to my neighbors! This recipe is similar to the one I made when I was a chef at the local grocery chain. It’s quick, simple, and makes A LOT.

Lemon Pepper Chicken Salad

  • 3 whole chicken breasts, boneless
  • 1T cumin
  • 1T garlic powder
  • 1/8t cayennewpid-wp-1446742388729.jpeg
  • 2c water
  • 1/2-1c sour cream
  • 1/2-1c mayo
  • 3T lemon pepper seasoning
  • Salt to taste

Cook the chicken + water, cumin, garlic, and cayenne on high in your slow cooker for 4 hours or until internal temp of meat reaches 165F at the fattest part of the breast. Remove from slow cooker, shred while still hot. Cool to 40F within two hours. Once cooled, combine sour cream, mayo, chicken, and lemon pepper seasoning. Start with 1/2 c each sour cream/mayo, add more as needed to desired consistency. I like my salad a little drier because I put it on toast or on a bed of lettuce. Some folks like to dip crackers in it or put it on a wrap, and creamier chicken salad is better for those meals. Plus the chicken will absorb some overnight, and it’s better to have dry chicken salad and add more mayo than to have chicken mayo soup! Salt to taste and enjoy!

