Salt Lick and Other Stuff

Standard

Man, this low sodium lifestyle is NOT easy. I have to admit, I’ve basically been failing – well, not basically, completely. I just never realized that SO MANY foods have so much sodium! For example, I made this Philly Steak wp-1449162812211.jpegChowder (recipe to come tomorrow!) and only added 1/4t of kosher salt. That’s over 400mg of sodium! A quarter of my daily recommended amount! Ridiculous. And don’t even get me started on the milk – fat free skim milk has 130mg sodium per cup. WTF.

I’m not terribly worried, because I have given up fast food, restaurant food, and processed foods – I’ve had less than five meals of each in the past four weeks – and I have given up all pop (over 100mg per can!). I’ve also stopped adding table salt (kosher only in my house, but there really isn’t a difference in sodium content) to foods after they’re cooked. I’ve cut way way back on my drinking (except this week, stupid stress, but I’m still drinking less) and I’ve also stopped smokingwp-1449162640545.jpeg (except when I’m drinking, which isn’t as often anymore… fucking vices…). The hardest thing for me to incorporate is exercise.

I have no choice but to either push a 35#+ stroller with Squeaks in it, in the dark, while trying to keep an eye on JI, in my neighborhood with no streetlights. If I want to go during the day, I have to pull 100#+ in a wagon, while trying to keep an eye on JI and the 7 yr old. That’s not too bad, but with this stupid hernia, it’s really really painful, and dangerous. My doctor already told me to not lift more than 5# (sorry guy, I have no choice) and I’m not to strain at all (moving, going to the bathroom, lifting/carrying, etc.), and if I feel sudden pain or nausea, I’m to go directly to the ER. Awesome! Cuz that’s gonna be SO easy if it happens while all the kids are here!

Speaking of which, I am shutting down my business for a little while starting at the 1st of the year. Money will be super tight, but I won’t have a choice after this surgery anyway. My bio mom is going to come down and help me, and my regular parents will help, and hopefully I can get a friend of mine to come over and help when my family can’t. Poke is supposed to be getting a job… we’ll see. Right now I don’t have any legal standing, but he had better get used to paying child support because if he doesn’t it will accrue, and once he does get income it will all go to me anyway. Plus, if he doesn’t pay for long enough, I believe he can lose his driver’s license and/or serve jail time. I’d rather have the money though because him being in jail or not able to drive really doesn’t help the situation!

Ugh… I can’t wait for this year to be over.

